Monday 3 February 2020

ALBUM NEWS: Siv Jakobsen - 'A Temporary Soothing'

Norwegian solo artist Siv Jakobsen has recently shared new single Fear the Fear and announced details of the follow-up to her debut album. New record A Temporary Soothing, due 24th April, was recorded with producer Chris Bond (Ben Howard, Nick Mulvey) and mixed by Zach Hanson (Bon Iver, Tallest Man on Earth). It's an exploration of 'fear, anxiety, change, and the struggle between being healthy and being productive', arriving at a time where these themes are more relevant than ever to the majority of us.

Siv explains that the new single Fear The Fear was "born from a spiralling worry that I wouldn't be able to create well if I was well, happy, content with myself and my life. It touches on my tendency to hang out in my own head and stay there, worrying about something in a constant, stressful loop. Fear is a big element in my general state of being, and I'm often run by it [...] writing this song helped me get that spiralling fearfulness out of my system." 

While Siv's debut album The Nordic Mellow was recorded in mere weeks, the second record is the result of almost a year of writing and recording. Working around a busy schedule for both Siv and producer Chris, the pair met in one and two week periods over this time, with the space between sessions allowing time for her to process the album, with freedom to develop her sound for this second record. She describes the record as "a way for me to look back and see what I have been going through, both the good and the bad [...] What I hope for is that people can take it and understand what they have been going through personally, too." 

Pre-order A Temporary Soothing here.

Follow Siv Jakobsen - Facebook | Twitter | Instagram.

No comments:

Post a Comment